Confidently Speaking.

The other day a friend was telling me about how even parenting has evolved and progressed since the days when we were kids. I suppose this implication here is that parents today are better than our parents were. I dunno. I’m not yet qualified to make a statement on my parents’ parenting skills, but I think I turned out ok no? The discussion led us down the road of what exactly is it that has evolved and what do we consider progress? The answer seemed to be that parents now understand to esteem the self esteem of our children, and the significance of building confidence in the individual. And in fact, I see that all around me now, parents, educators, friends, we try our best to help our kids feel good about themselves. We try to let them know that they are totally OK so that they can develop that sense of confidence that seems so crucial to success these days.

I’m no exception, I too find that I hope for my kids to be confident. However, I often wonder what it is that they are confident about. What do they place their confidence in and what do they base it upon? Do they have an eternal confidence or one that is easily shaken by skinny jeans or bell bottoms?

How do we establish spiritual confidence in our kids? What is that you do to help your kids establish eternal confidence?

Standard

One thought on “Confidently Speaking.

Leave a comment